TBrowse & report objects in FiveWin.

Post Reply
HunterEC
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 am

TBrowse & report objects in FiveWin.

Post by HunterEC »

I'm new to FiveWin. :oops: I have a generic routine for browsing files in Clipper. I called it DbBrowse(nRow1, nCol1, nRow2, nCol2, aoColumns, ...). Basically I send the coordinates and the Columns (array) and that's it. How can I implement these using FiveWin ?

How can I implement a report with preview ? I need the simplest example of both (TBrowse & a report) using FiveWin. Thank you.
User avatar
Armando
Posts: 2479
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Toluca, México
Contact:

Post by Armando »

HunterEc:

There are many samples in C:\FW\Samples folder, I'm sure you
will find what you need.

Regards
SOI, s.a. de c.v.
estbucarm@gmail.com
http://www.soisa.mex.tl/
http://sqlcmd.blogspot.com/
Tel. (722) 174 44 45
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

This is a simple way to create a browse:

Code: Select all

   @ 1, 1 LISTBOX oLbx ;
        FIELDS Clients->Name, AllTrim( Clients->Address ),;
                   Clients->Phone, Str( Clients->Age, 3 ) ;
        HEADERS    "Name", "Address", "Phone", "Age" ;
        FIELDSIZES 222, 213, 58, 24 ;
        SIZE 284, 137 OF oWnd
A simple way to create a Report with preview:

Code: Select all

#include "FiveWin.ch"
#include "report.ch"

function Main()

     local oReport

     USE TEST INDEX TEST NEW

     REPORT oReport TITLE  "*** My First Report ***" PREVIEW

     COLUMN TITLE "St"         DATA Test->State
     COLUMN TITLE "First Name" DATA Test->First
     COLUMN TITLE "   Salary"  DATA Test->Salary

     END REPORT

     oReport:CellView()

     ACTIVATE REPORT oReport

     CLOSE TEST

RETURN NIL
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
HunterEC
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 am

Post by HunterEC »

Antonio:

Thank you for your help and GREAT support. On the browse subject, is there a way to receive the columns as PARAMETERS and then do the browse. This way I can port my generic TBrowse routine? On the example that you posted, fields are hard coded. Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Code: Select all

#include "Fivewin.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL oDlg, oBrw

    USE TEST

    DEFINE DIALOG oDlg;
           SIZE 800, 600

    @ 0, 0 LISTBOX oBrw FIELDS

    oBrw:bLine = &( "{ || { TEST -> last, TEST -> first } }" )

    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg;
             ON INIT oDlg:SetControl( oBrw );
             CENTER

    CLOSE

    RETURN NIL
EMG
HunterEC
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 am

Embedding the listbox in a window.

Post by HunterEC »

Enrico: thank you very much for your example. Now, how can I make this LISTBOX pop up when the user press, for example, F2 to activate a lookup window (which will be the listbox). Thank you.
HunterEC
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 am

Using DBFCDX

Post by HunterEC »

Enrico: if I use the Test file VIA DBFCDX in your example and REQUEST & link the library, the LISTBOX does not come up on screen. Any thoughts on this? Thank you.
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Gustavo,

You have all the required tools to build your application in 32 bits with Harbour/xHarbour and FWH.

We strongly recommend you to migrate your application to 32 bits. It will solve many troubles
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Re: Embedding the listbox in a window.

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

HunterEC wrote:Enrico: thank you very much for your example. Now, how can I make this LISTBOX pop up when the user press, for example, F2 to activate a lookup window (which will be the listbox). Thank you.

Code: Select all

SETKEY( VK_F2, { || YourLookUpFunction() } )
or better

Code: Select all

oDlg:bKeyDown = { || If( GetKeyState( VK_F2 ), YourLookUpFunction(), ) }
EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Re: Using DBFCDX

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

HunterEC wrote:Enrico: if I use the Test file VIA DBFCDX in your example and REQUEST & link the library, the LISTBOX does not come up on screen. Any thoughts on this? Thank you.

Code: Select all

#include "Fivewin.ch"


REQUEST DBFCDX


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL oDlg, oBrw

    RDDSETDEFAULT( "DBFCDX" )

    USE TEST

    DEFINE DIALOG oDlg;
           SIZE 800, 600

    @ 0, 0 LISTBOX oBrw FIELDS

    oBrw:bLine = &( "{ || { TEST -> last, TEST -> first } }" )

    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg;
             ON INIT oDlg:SetControl( oBrw );
             CENTER

    CLOSE

    RETURN NIL
EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Re: Using DBFCDX

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Anyway, I agree with Antonio: 32 bit is the way to go. 16 bit is a dead platform.

EMG
HunterEC
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 am

Thanks...

Post by HunterEC »

Enrico:
Thank you for your help & suggestion to move up to 32 bits. :)
Post Reply