Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post Reply
Ollie
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:10 am

Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Ollie »

I have an established application that has been working well, untouched, for years now.

The application runs on a server in their office via a mapped network drive.

A client recently upgraded to Windows 7 64bit (new hardware).

She works in my app, keeps it open and switches between Outlook and Word etc.

Sometimes when she switches back to my app its "Not responding" and it has to be force closed.

The app doesn't do this with me (Windows 7, 32bit), but its the only software that does this on her PC - so she blames my software. I have no idea where to start.

Can anyone offer advice?
Many thanks
Ollie.

Using:
xHarbour Compiler build 1.2.1 (SimpLex) (Rev. 6406)
Borland C++ 5.5.1
FWH 9.04 (2009 Apr)
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Antonio Linares »

Ollie,

Check if there is a log file in the disk, automatically created from Harbour or FWH.

If not, you may use an existing timer of your app and create a log file meanwhile the app is running to check memory status, procname( x), etc. so if it crash you may get an idea what process was going on.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by TimStone »

Automatic log file ? Can you explain further ?
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
lucasdebeltran
Posts: 1303
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:12 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by lucasdebeltran »

Timm,

Check for hb_out.log.

Regards,
Muchas gracias. Many thanks.

Un saludo, Best regards,

Harbour 3.2.0dev, Borland C++ 5.82 y FWH 13.06 [producción]

Implementando MSVC 2010, FWH64 y ADO.

Abandonando uso xHarbour y SQLRDD.
Ollie
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:10 am

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Ollie »

Thanks Antonio for the advice,

Do you have some sample code to help me create the log file?

Ollie.
Many thanks
Ollie.

Using:
xHarbour Compiler build 1.2.1 (SimpLex) (Rev. 6406)
Borland C++ 5.5.1
FWH 9.04 (2009 Apr)
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Antonio Linares »

Ollie,

Here you have an example. Please modify the value 7 used to call ProcName() and ProcLine() based on your app design. Experiment with 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, etc.

Code: Select all

// This sample shows how to call a function in an interval time.

#include "FiveWin.ch"

static oWnd
static lActive := .f.

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//

function Main()

   local oTmr

   DEFINE WINDOW oWnd TITLE "Activity Control"

   DEFINE TIMER oTmr INTERVAL 1000 ACTION CheckFile() OF oWnd

   ACTIVATE TIMER oTmr

   ACTIVATE WINDOW oWnd 

return nil

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//

function CheckFile()

   if ! lActive
      lActive = .t.
      LogFile( "c:\activity.log", { ProcName( 8 ), ProcLine( 8 ) } )
      // MsgInfo( "I check anything from here" )
      lActive = .f.
   endif

return nil

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
 
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
norberto
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: BR

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by norberto »

Hi antonio, i have an problem with fwh1202 and windows 64, in my appl have menu, ribbon and backstage, click in ribbon, after in backstage and after in an item of menu, the appl hangs without errorlog.

very thanks

norberto
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Antonio Linares »

Norberto,

I have been using Windows 7 64 since it become available. All my development is done on it. And never experienced those hangs. Anyhow, I trust you :-)

Try to reproduce it, locate in which section it happens. We can solve it, no problem :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
MarcoBoschi
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:08 am
Location: Padova - Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by MarcoBoschi »

This is not a solution: it's only another aspect of this problem.
If you run this program
and click on it after 3/4 seconds appears "...not responding"
It's normal in windows 7

I still

Code: Select all

#include "fivewin.ch"

FUNCTION MAIN()
LOCAL oAspetta
LOCAL i

      oAspetta := Aspetta( .T., oAspetta, "Please wait..." , 10  )
      FOR i := 1 TO 100
          sleep(400)
      NEXT i

      oAspetta := Aspetta( .F., oAspetta, "Pease wait..." , 10 )

RETURN NIL



FUNCTION Aspetta( lAzione, oAspetta, cTesto, nSec )
LOCAL oTesto

DEFAULT nSec := 0

IF lAzione

   DEFINE DIALOG oAspetta FROM 10 , 10 TO 50 , 400 TITLE "Attesa..." PIXEL

   @ 7 , 10 SAY oTesto PROMPT cTesto OF oAspetta PIXEL SIZE 400 , 30

   ACTIVATE DIALOG oASpetta CENTER NOWAIT
   sysrefresh()

ELSE
   IF nSec > 0
      sleep( nSec * 1000 )
   ENDIF
   sysrefresh()
   oAspetta:End()

ENDIF


RETURN oAspetta
 

I have not even solved a problem similar to yours
Every so often happens to me this problem after delicate operations:
copy records from one table to another
copy files from one folder to another
after a click "Do you confirm?"

Using logfile() function I trace every single operation: nothing to report!


etc.. etc..
Marco Boschi
info@marcoboschi.it
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Antonio Linares »

Marco,

You can not create a Windows application just using a NONMODAL dialog.
Please remove the NOWAIT clause and it shoud work fine.

If you call to PostQuitMessage( 0 ) then you will instruct Windows to end your app.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
norberto
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: BR

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by norberto »

Antonio, i have run in windows 7 64 for years without problem... the error begin when i use ribbon+backstage+menu, if i remove the backstage, works fine. i guess may be something in backstage of ribbon, i will try isolate this.

Ribbon+backstage without menu, run fine too...

i have an appl running 24x7x365 in windows server with ADS ,workstations with windows 7 64, windows thin pc (7 32), windows xp, remote machines with rdp, solid, stable, but when i put backstage in ribbon this problem begin (hangs).

thanks
User avatar
MarcoBoschi
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:08 am
Location: Padova - Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by MarcoBoschi »

:roll:
sometimes it happens that my post is not stored....

Antonio,
it's just an example.
I use function aspetta() to warn the user he has to wait a few seconds.
Marco Boschi
info@marcoboschi.it
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 4470
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by Otto »

Norberto,

I don't see backstage anymore in WINDOWS 8. :-)


Best regards,
Otto
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org

********************************************************************
norberto
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: BR

Re: Windows 7 64 bit not responding.

Post by norberto »

Otto, in office 15 preview i see, but this beta.
Post Reply