Black Screen of Death.
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Black Screen of Death.
I have a fairly large app that sometimes the area of the MDI Frame turns black. Is this some sort of a resource leak in my app, any suggestions on what to check for, or how to remedy.
Bcc7
Thanks,
Byron ...
Bcc7
Thanks,
Byron ...
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
- Rick Lipkin
- Posts: 2397
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
- Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Byron
I presume this happens randomly ... I would put a few well placed oWndMdi:Refresh() and perhaps accompanied by a SysReFresh() after coming out of some of your large ( add\edit ) modules .. after you close your tables ... especially if you are closing ADO tables .. and if they are Ado tables .. make sure you destroy the oRs Object .... oRs := nil ( even if oRs is a Local variable ) .. then oWndMdi:ReFresh(),SysReFresh()
Rick Lipkin
I presume this happens randomly ... I would put a few well placed oWndMdi:Refresh() and perhaps accompanied by a SysReFresh() after coming out of some of your large ( add\edit ) modules .. after you close your tables ... especially if you are closing ADO tables .. and if they are Ado tables .. make sure you destroy the oRs Object .... oRs := nil ( even if oRs is a Local variable ) .. then oWndMdi:ReFresh(),SysReFresh()
Rick Lipkin
Last edited by Rick Lipkin on Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
No to the Gradiant in the background.
Rick, thanks sounds very reasonable. It does use ADO everywhere.
Rick, thanks sounds very reasonable. It does use ADO everywhere.
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Byron,
Please also check the consume of GDI objects in your app:
http://wiki.fivetechsoft.com/doku.php?i ... etresdebug
Please also check the consume of GDI objects in your app:
http://wiki.fivetechsoft.com/doku.php?i ... etresdebug
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
How do you make sure they are disposed of properly?
Just launch my program, and then exit , and I get:
CheckRes.Txt file...
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- FONT,1846159188,TMDIFRAME:GETFONT(3122)->TMDICLIENT:GETFONT(3099)->TMDICLIENT:NEW(147)->TMDIFRAME:NEW(178)->MAIN(106)
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- BMP,-1476060091,TMDIFRAME:HANDLEEVENT(0)->_FWH(3602)->WINRUN(0)->TMDIFRAME:ACTIVATE(1020)->MAIN(119)
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- ====================================================================================================
End of CheckRes.txt file...
How do I get rid of these?
Byron ...
Just launch my program, and then exit , and I get:
CheckRes.Txt file...
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- FONT,1846159188,TMDIFRAME:GETFONT(3122)->TMDICLIENT:GETFONT(3099)->TMDICLIENT:NEW(147)->TMDIFRAME:NEW(178)->MAIN(106)
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- BMP,-1476060091,TMDIFRAME:HANDLEEVENT(0)->_FWH(3602)->WINRUN(0)->TMDIFRAME:ACTIVATE(1020)->MAIN(119)
09/09/17 11:23:08: C:\Datafile\tmsbcc\tmsbcc.exe -- ====================================================================================================
End of CheckRes.txt file...
How do I get rid of these?
Byron ...
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Don't worry about those as FWH will clean them
Re: Black Screen of Death.
What version of FWH are you using?byron.hopp wrote:I have a fairly large app that sometimes the area of the MDI Frame turns black. Is this some sort of a resource leak in my app, any suggestions on what to check for, or how to remedy.
Bcc7
Thanks,
Byron ...
Randal
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Have you tried monitoring the GDI count on the Details tab of Windows (10) task manager?byron.hopp wrote:Fivewin for Harbour 15.10
Randal
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
On my Windows 10 Task Manager I don't see GDI Count, where would I find it.
On Details Tab:
Name
PID
Status
User name
CPU
Memory (private working set)
Description
Or is it one of the rows of the grid?
Thanks,
Byron ...
On Details Tab:
Name
PID
Status
User name
CPU
Memory (private working set)
Description
Or is it one of the rows of the grid?
Thanks,
Byron ...
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Byron:
You may need to right click on one of the column headings to show a list of all column headings and then check the GDI column so it's visible.
As you open and close various windows/dialogs in your app you can watch the GDI count go up/down. As you close a dialog or window the GDI count should return to the value it was before you opened it or more specifically, repeated calls to the same window/dialog/report, etc. should not cause the GDI count to continue increasing.
Randal
You may need to right click on one of the column headings to show a list of all column headings and then check the GDI column so it's visible.
As you open and close various windows/dialogs in your app you can watch the GDI count go up/down. As you close a dialog or window the GDI count should return to the value it was before you opened it or more specifically, repeated calls to the same window/dialog/report, etc. should not cause the GDI count to continue increasing.
Randal
byron.hopp wrote:On my Windows 10 Task Manager I don't see GDI Count, where would I find it.
On Details Tab:
Name
PID
Status
User name
CPU
Memory (private working set)
Description
Or is it one of the rows of the grid?
Thanks,
Byron ...
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Randall,
Wasn't that easy, sorry man I had no idea. I'll start looking at this.
Byron ...
Wasn't that easy, sorry man I had no idea. I'll start looking at this.
Byron ...
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
-
- Posts: 254
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:55 pm
- Location: Southern California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Once I see this number, what action do I take based on what value?
My customer is really getting a little pissy about this happening.
Thanks,
Byron ...
My customer is really getting a little pissy about this happening.
Thanks,
Byron ...
Thanks,
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
Byron Hopp
Matrix Computer Services
- Rick Lipkin
- Posts: 2397
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
- Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA
Re: Black Screen of Death.
Byron
Can you reproduce this behavior on your machine or on other machines ... If not, I would ask your Customer to look at the offending machine(s) device manager and see what display adapter is in those machine(s).
I bet you will find this is a local machine problem and a cranky video driver.
Rick Lipkin
Can you reproduce this behavior on your machine or on other machines ... If not, I would ask your Customer to look at the offending machine(s) device manager and see what display adapter is in those machine(s).
I bet you will find this is a local machine problem and a cranky video driver.
Rick Lipkin