Why use MESSAGE in Classes

Post Reply
Gilbert
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Canada

Why use MESSAGE in Classes

Post by Gilbert »

Hi All,


Why does certain classes, like TDATABASE, use the syntax:

MESSAGE Delete METHOD _Delete()

why not simply use:

METHOD Delete()

Regards
Gilbert Vaillancourt :o
Gilbert Vaillancourt
turbolog@videotron.ca
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Gilbert,

Because Delete() is a reserved function name so it can not be used.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Gilbert
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Gilbert »

Hi Antonio,


Thanks for your answer. It make sense.

I have another one. I am trying to figure out how does TDATABASE class create the object for each field of a database record. I was looking at the class and could not figure out how it does that. Can you tell me wich portion of code generates the field objects.

Regards :?
Gilbert Vaillancourt
turbolog@videotron.ca
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Have a look at OnError() method. By the way, the fields objects are not generated at all.

EMG
Gilbert
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Gilbert »

Hi Enrico,


You`re right, tho OnError METHOD handles the fields content to return when an error occurs in the class by doing cString := oDbf:fieldname or
oDbf:fieldname := cString

Doing some test I also figured out than an `_` is passed in front of the fieldname when doing oDbf:filedname := cString, limiting the lenght of the fieldname to 9 positions. Does that mean that the field name of the database must not have more than 9 positions ?

This limitation seems to be only for FiveWin + Clipper. Am I right ?

Regards
Gilbert Vaillancourt
turbolog@videotron.ca
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Gilbert,

Yes, it is a Clipper limitation. With Harbour there is no such limitation.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Gilbert
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Gilbert »

Hi Antonio,


Thanks

I would like to know what possibility I have to implement an idea of mine.

The OnError METHOD receives an cFieldName an nError parameters. Is nError always the same or could it be different ? Where is nError comes from ?


Regards
Gilbert Vaillancourt
turbolog@videotron.ca
Post Reply