xBrowse & SQLRDD

PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

Hi,

Cant remember if I've asked this question before :oops:

Is there any way that the method of selecting multiple records (shift & click) be made available for use with SQLRDD?

I think I remember reading somewhere that the select routine uses functions not available in SQL but I was wondering if there was another way of doing it in xBrowse?

Might be a question for nageswaragunupudi?

Best regards,

Pete
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

Have you tried setting marqueestyle to MARQSTYLE_HIGHLROWMS ?
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

Yes, thats the style i'm using
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

PeterHarmes wrote:Yes, thats the style i'm using
If so it SQLRDD also should work like any other RDD.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

I'm sure I read somewhere that certain index functions are not available in SQLRDD - I think they were the ones that return the position of the record within the index - Is this function being used in xBrowse?
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

For the purpose of multi-select feature it is enough if RecNo() is working correctly.

As I can not test SQLRDD at my end, please explain what is happening in your case.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

No records are selected when i use the shift key to select multiple records (using mouse)

The ctrl key is working fine by selecting records line at a time.
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

I'm sorry, I've made a mistake - I forgot to remove my modified xBrowse.prg from my build routines. It looks like you can now select multiple rows with the space bar under SQLRDD.

Sorry for wasting your time :oops:

p.s. this wasnt working with earlier versions of xBrowse, is this the modification that was made in the July release?

* Enhancement: XBrowse: Method SetRDD() modified to make compatible with SQLRDD.
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

PeterHarmes wrote:I'm sorry, I've made a mistake - I forgot to remove my modified xBrowse.prg from my build routines. It looks like you can now select multiple rows with the space bar under SQLRDD.

Sorry for wasting your time :oops:

p.s. this wasnt working with earlier versions of xBrowse, is this the modification that was made in the July release?

* Enhancement: XBrowse: Method SetRDD() modified to make compatible with SQLRDD.
Yes. Whatever modifications we made were based on what we could understand from your postings here.
Hope xbrowse is now working as expected for you.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

Hi,

Just found a problem with xBrowse & SQLRDD

incremental searching no longer works - I have found the area that is causing the problem:

Line 3855 of xBrowse.prg (METHOD SetRdd)

Code: Select all


   if ( ::cAlias )->( RddName() ) == "SQLRDD"
      ::bSeek        := nil
      ::cSortOrders  := nil
      ::cOrdBags     := nil
   endif

 
If I remove this block, incremental searching works fine.

Any ideas why this was put in here?

Regards,

Pete
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

Any ideas why this was put in here?
Because we were not sure about the existence/functionality of some Ord???() functions in SQLRDD. We preferred not to use such functions rather than creating run-time errors.

With your help we shall try to implement this functionality. Please make the change as you prposed above and let us know if all your browses are working prperly with incremental seek and incremental filters.
We shall implement the final changes in the next release.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

I've yet to test the incremental filters - this sounds really useful, but as far as I have tested, the incremental searching works fine with this block commented out.
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

Just been testing selecting multiple rows with the shift key under SQLRDD and sometimes it does not select the correct records - it seems to select all the records in the browse on the current view except the records i was expecting.

Also, if i keep selecting records with shift, clearing the list and re-selecting after 4 or 5 times of doing this, an egg timer appears and the app hangs.

If you want to give me a modified xbrowse with debug statements I can test and report the findings to you.

Best regards,

Pete
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

Please insert debug statements at places you think appropriate in the METHOD Select()
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
PeterHarmes
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford, England

Re: xBrowse & SQLRDD

Post by PeterHarmes »

I think the problem is due to ::bKeyNo

Under DBFCDX it uses OrdKeyNo() which is perfect - I think this function does not work under SQLRDD :(

Under SQLRDD it eventually uses Recno() which would be fine if you browse was sorted by record number. If you select the first record, then hold shift and select another record below the first record with a lower Recno(), it gets totally confused.

The only way that I can see this potentially working is if you use the index key instead of Recno()/OrdKeyNo(), but even then this would only work if the index contained unique keys.

Can you explain how bBookmark works and what its used for?

Best regards,

Pete
Post Reply