Page 1 of 1

Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:43 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
In the following sample, please try to move another app over the buttonbar. You should see that the buttonbar background become temporarily white as the covering window moves:

Code: Select all

#include "Fivewin.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL oDlg

    DEFINE DIALOG oDlg;
           SIZE 1000, 600

    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg;
             ON INIT TOOLBAR( oDlg );
             CENTER

    RETURN NIL


STATIC FUNCTION TOOLBAR( oDlg )

    LOCAL i

    DEFINE BUTTONBAR OF oDlg 2007

    FOR i = 1 TO 35
        DEFINE BUTTON OF oDlg:oBar;
               FILE "C:\FWH\BITMAPS\OPEN.BMP"
    NEXT

    RETURN NIL
EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:25 pm
by mauri.menabue
I tried your program with harbour and xHarbour, but I have not encountered the problem you reported.

C Compiler BCC 55
Harbour 3.0
xHarbour 1.2.1
FWH 11.10

regards

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:31 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Maybe the problem is with a newer FWH version?

EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:34 pm
by carlos vargas
enrico, fwh12.04 xharbour, windows 8
no problems.

salu2

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:38 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Can you try under XP? Remember: you have to quickly move another window (you can start a second instance of the sample) over the buttonbar. Try to move it from right to left, starting with the buttonbar completerly covered.

EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:17 am
by anserkk
It is working fine with Harbour,xHarbour,FWH 12.06 BCC582 under Windows 7.

Regards

Anser

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:23 am
by lucasdebeltran
Enrico,

With Harbour in Windows 7 and in XP shows fine.

With xHarbour.org in XP sometimes I experience a delay and flashing when painting the bar.

What´s the function used in FW to paint the buttons?.

Tnasbmp?.

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:53 am
by Enrico Maria Giordano
It seems that only I have this problem. Any ideas on what is could be the reason?

EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:56 pm
by Otto
Enrico,
do you use WINDOWS standard view or AERO on your PC.
Best regards,
Otto

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:04 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
I use XP. I tried to run my sample on a Notebook with Vista (Aero) without problem. What could it be in my PC (XP) that slows the buttonbar repaint?...

EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:11 pm
by Rick Lipkin
Enrico

I know this may sound a bit in 'left field' .. see if there is an updated video driver for your pc .. it may or may not make any difference.

Rick Lipkin

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:25 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Thank you. Unfortunately, my video driver is updated. :-(

EMG

Re: Repaint slowness in TBar

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:22 pm
by Eoeo
With xp professional Ihad often these errors in past.

Can you try to use F8 or Provvisor Section xp at init and see if it make error with only Vga system

Or you can erase your driver and make upgrade of your graphic driver

Often there are many app use graphic driver ( DLL) in memory of Pc and leak resources.