Page 1 of 3

Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:00 am
by Colin Haig
Hi All

I have office 2010 and would lilke to open a word document and replace some text using
OLE

Can anyone provide a small sample.

Regards

Colin

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:49 am
by Richard Chidiak
Colin

This is a sample, the code was originated by Enrico, i adapted it to my needs

HTH

Richard

Code: Select all


      TRY
         oWORD := CREATEOBJECT( "word.Application" )
      CATCH
         MSGSTOP("L'Application Microsoft WORD n'est pas installée sur cet Ordinateur !" )
         RETURN NIL
      END

      oDoc = oWord:Documents:Open(CFILE )
      oDoc:Select()
      oSel = oWord:Selection

      WORDREPLACE( oSel, "#nom#", ALLTRIM(DNOM))

      oWord:ActivePrinter = CNAME
      oDoc:PrintOut()
      oDoc:Close( 0 )
   oWord:Quit()

STATIC FUNCTION WORDREPLACE( oSel, cSrc, cRpl )
oSel:Start = 0
oSel:End = -1

WHILE oSel:Find:Execute( cSrc )
     oSel:Range:Text = cRpl
ENDDO
RETURN NIL

 

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:21 am
by Colin Haig
Hi Richard

Thanks for your reply - I get the following error

Error description: Error word.Application:DOCUMENTS/9 'Item' is not a property.: OPEN

Stack Calls
===========
Called from: C:\xHarbour\source\rtl\win32ole.prg => TOLEAUTO:OPEN(0)

All the samples I have found use the same code as you provided.

Regards

Colin

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:39 am
by Enrico Maria Giordano
This is an improved version that I'm using currently:

Code: Select all

FUNCTION WORDREPLACEALL( oSel, cSrc, cRpl )

    LOCAL oRng := oSel:Document:Content

    IF AT( cSrc, oRng:Text ) = 0; RETURN .F.; ENDIF

    WHILE oRng:Find:Execute( cSrc )
        oRng:Text = cRpl
        oRng:Collapse( wdCollapseEnd )
    ENDDO

    RETURN .T.
EMG

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:56 am
by Colin Haig
Hi All

The document I was trying to open was a docx - I tried a another doc document and
it openned.

Cheers

Colin

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:30 pm
by driessen
To me this is a very interesting topic.

But I have 2 more questions.

1. (To Enrico) I tried your example of WordReplace(), but I got an error that the variable WDCOLLAPSEND doesn't exist. Any idea ? The original code, proposed in this topic, is working just fine.

2. How can I search for a character, a word or a sentence, using this idea ?

3. Is there any difference between : DO WHILE ..... ENDDO and WHILE ..... ENDDO ?

Thank you very much in advance.

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:39 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
driessen wrote:I got an error that the variable WDCOLLAPSEND doesn't exist.

Code: Select all

#define wdCollapseEnd 0
driessen wrote:How can I search for a character, a word or a sentence, using this idea ?

Code: Select all

IF oRng:Find:Execute( cString )
    // Found!
ENDIF
driessen wrote:Is there any difference between : DO WHILE ..... ENDDO and WHILE ..... ENDDO ?
No.

EMG

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:15 pm
by driessen
Enrico,

Thank you very much for your answer.

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:44 pm
by driessen
Enrico,

Maybe just another question.

I noticed that the text is not replaced in de header and footer. Any idea how that can be solved ?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:55 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano

Code: Select all

FUNCTION WORDREPLACERNGALL( oDoc, cSrc, cRpl )

    LOCAL lOk := .F.

    LOCAL oRng

    TRY
        oRng = oDoc:StoryRanges[ 7 ]

        IF AT( cSrc, oRng:Text ) > 0
            WHILE oRng:Find:Execute( cSrc )
                oRng:Text = cRpl
                oRng = oDoc:StoryRanges[ 7 ]
            ENDDO

            lOk = .T.
        ENDIF
    CATCH
    END

    RETURN lOk
EMG

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:25 pm
by driessen
Enrico,

Thanks a lot.

I'll try it out this weekend.

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:21 pm
by driessen
Enrico,

I tried you last example. Unfortunately I got an error : Error Word.Application:SELECTION/0 S_OK:STORYRANGES.

Does STORYRANGES need to be defined ? If yes, how ?

Thank you in advance.

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:38 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
You can't have errors using my sample because the access to StoryRange is enclosed in a TRY/CATCH/END structure.

EMG

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:33 pm
by driessen
Enrico,

You are right. But I tried your example first and noticed that my Word-document wasn't changed at all.

So I did remark the TRY ... CATCH ... END lines. And then that error occurred. To my opinion the reason why my document wasn't changed ?

Re: Winword and OLE

Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:46 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Please show a reduced sample of the problem so I can try to fix it.

EMG