Another ADS issue

Post Reply
Marcelo Via Giglio
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Another ADS issue

Post by Marcelo Via Giglio »

Hello to all,

I am testing the FWH9.06 + xH from this distribution ADS Local 9.1

When I use temporary table, per example:

Code: Select all

SELECT clients.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp FROM clients
with previus version of RDD, like ADS 7.1 was possible to modify the
salary column like
(alias) -> salary := <value>

but with the last version this is not more possible I obtain a write error message.

I think this is a bug in the RDD, do you have the same problem?

Regards

Marcelo
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by Antonio Linares »

Marcelo,

What error is it ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
fraxzi
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by fraxzi »

Marcelo Via Giglio wrote:Hello to all,

I am testing the FWH9.06 + xH from this distribution ADS Local 9.1

When I use temporary table, per example:

Code: Select all

SELECT clients.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp FROM clients
with previus version of RDD, like ADS 7.1 was possible to modify the
salary column like
(alias) -> salary := <value>

but with the last version this is not more possible I obtain a write error message.

I think this is a bug in the RDD, do you have the same problem?

Regards

Marcelo

Sir,

I used xHB 1.21 + FWH 9.01 + ( ADS9.1 and/or ADS8.1 ) with your concern:

Code: Select all

                dbSelectArea( 0 )

                cSQL := 'select RRefDef.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp from RRefDef'

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADS )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      temp->salary := 1.1
                      xBrowse( 'temp', AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE
                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE
                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
 

The above works well on both LOCAL/SERVER.


Regards,

-Frances
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
Marcelo Via Giglio
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by Marcelo Via Giglio »

Antonio,

thanks for your attention, this was a rare behavior that I found when I tryed to use the last RDDADS and temporary tables

Fraxzi

OK, thanks for your test, this mean that I have hope, because I exposed the same question in the xharbour's google group and they didn't have an logical answer for this issue

I will try again with xH 1.21 + ADS 9.1, I will post the results here thanks again

For me, work with ADS LOCAL is really usefull I don't know why other user don't use it, you can:

use sql (the best)
transparent crypt tables
ricth data type (graphics, money, etc)
Advanced and fast filter
Client/server (BUT YES this is expensive)
use PHP, PERL, CLIPXNET........ with ADS server
.......
......
ALL this with ADT or DBFCDX files


best regards

Marcelo
User avatar
fraxzi
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by fraxzi »

Marcelo Via Giglio wrote:Antonio,

thanks for your attention, this was a rare behavior that I found when I tryed to use the last RDDADS and temporary tables

Fraxzi

OK, thanks for your test, this mean that I have hope, because I exposed the same question in the xharbour's google group and they didn't have an logical answer for this issue

I will try again with xH 1.21 + ADS 9.1, I will post the results here thanks again

For me, work with ADS LOCAL is really usefull I don't know why other user don't use it, you can:

use sql (the best)
transparent crypt tables
ricth data type (graphics, money, etc)
Advanced and fast filter
Client/server (BUT YES this is expensive)
use PHP, PERL, CLIPXNET........ with ADS server
.......
......
ALL this with ADT or DBFCDX files


best regards

Marcelo

I agree. ADS LOCAL (or server) is the best. But this is an individual preference :)
It's so easy to port from client to server application using ADS.


Best regards,
-Frances
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by fraxzi »

I have my own version of that ADS issue... :?:
There's no record on my created temp table when I xbrowse it.. no error. all successful execution.

Anyone sharing idea? :wink:

Code: Select all

       ...
                cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
                            "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADSSERVER )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      xBrowse( 'temp', 'ADS v'+AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE

                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE

                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
   ...
 
Regards
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by fraxzi »

fraxzi wrote:I have my own version of that ADS issue... :?:
There's no record on my created temp table when I xbrowse it.. no error. all successful execution.

Anyone sharing idea? :wink:

Code: Select all

       ...
                cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
                            "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADSSERVER )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      xBrowse( 'temp', 'ADS v'+AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE

                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE

                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
   ...
 
Regards
Got IT!!!


Just added this:

Code: Select all

 cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
         "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "+;
         "SELECT * from #TEMP"
 
:D




Regards!
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
Marcelo Via Giglio
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Another ADS issue

Post by Marcelo Via Giglio »

Hello,

I solved the problem, I need to create the SQL like:

Code: Select all

 SELECT *, 0000000.00 AS salary FROM clients
we need to define the data size to use it, before with ADS 7.1 I used the ROUND function to create a float poit value but but ADS 9.1 this is not more possible,
this new way is compatible with ADS 7.1 and 9.1

Regards and thanks for your time

Marcelo
Post Reply