SqLite in network
SqLite in network
Hi,
I begin project with FireBird , but I like SqLite . I found SqLitenning ( http://www.sqlitening.com/support/index.php ) as solution to work in network , but couldn't to force to work that . Maybe any of us have experience with SqLite in network enviroment ? I know that official opinnion is that SqLite can't work in network , but ... I hope that exist solution for that ... .
With best regards !
I begin project with FireBird , but I like SqLite . I found SqLitenning ( http://www.sqlitening.com/support/index.php ) as solution to work in network , but couldn't to force to work that . Maybe any of us have experience with SqLite in network enviroment ? I know that official opinnion is that SqLite can't work in network , but ... I hope that exist solution for that ... .
With best regards !
Rimantas U.
Re: SqLite in network
Maybe using Harbour netio will be a solution. Using at server NETIO server app with access to SQLite and on the workstations a NETIO client app.
Best Regards,
Ruediger Alich
---
HMG 3.1.3 | FTDN/FWH 13.12 | Harbour 3.2 | BCC/MinGW | Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10 (32/64-Bit), Wine (Linux/Mac) - started 1999 with FW, 1989 with Clipper
Ruediger Alich
---
HMG 3.1.3 | FTDN/FWH 13.12 | Harbour 3.2 | BCC/MinGW | Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10 (32/64-Bit), Wine (Linux/Mac) - started 1999 with FW, 1989 with Clipper
Re: SqLite in network
Very , very interesting ... . It worst to try , I think . Many thanks to you !IBTC wrote:Maybe using Harbour netio will be a solution. Using at server NETIO server app with access to SQLite and on the workstations a NETIO client app.
Rimantas U.
Re: SqLite in network
In sources of harbour I found , that hbnetio can work as Windows service , but can't to find info how to run in this mode . Can you help to me ?IBTC wrote:Maybe using Harbour netio will be a solution. Using at server NETIO server app with access to SQLite and on the workstations a NETIO client app.
With best regards !
Rimantas U.
Re: SqLite in network
Sorry, I don't know how hbnetio can work as Windows service. At the moment I don't use hbnetio yet. Maybe ask at Harbour user's mailing list.Rimantas wrote:Can you help to me ?
Best Regards,
Ruediger Alich
---
HMG 3.1.3 | FTDN/FWH 13.12 | Harbour 3.2 | BCC/MinGW | Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10 (32/64-Bit), Wine (Linux/Mac) - started 1999 with FW, 1989 with Clipper
Ruediger Alich
---
HMG 3.1.3 | FTDN/FWH 13.12 | Harbour 3.2 | BCC/MinGW | Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10 (32/64-Bit), Wine (Linux/Mac) - started 1999 with FW, 1989 with Clipper
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
I have not looked at SQLite in years, but the last I knew, it uses file locking to update a record (instead of record locking). It was really designed for a single user. But, perhaps this has changed.
Regards,
James
Regards,
James
Re: SqLite in network
James , nothing changed . It's all the same . Exist some technics which allows to work with SqLite in network , here they are : http://www.sqlite.org/cvstrac/wiki?p=SqliteNetwork . But ... it's very fine to work with SqLite with own tools - (x) Harbour + FwH . And Netio it seems can do the same as technologies in mentioned link . The NetIo idea is that all PC in network are working with SqLite database , but through Netio server . It can solve the problem of file locking for new records or update . I'll try that .James Bott wrote:I have not looked at SQLite in years, but the last I knew, it uses file locking to update a record (instead of record locking). It was really designed for a single user. But, perhaps this has changed.
Regards !
Rimantas U.
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
Rimantas,
I don't understand how that works, but I will be interested to hear about your progress.
James
I don't understand how that works, but I will be interested to hear about your progress.
James
- Marco Turco
- Posts: 858
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:00 pm
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
Hello Rimantes,
I'm using Sqlite and xHarbour since late 2010 in all my products and in network environments without problems.
Generally speaking, you don't need a client-server structure to operate on a network with Sqlite but you should cumulate the write calls inside a Begin Immediate->Commit sequence in order to minimize the file locktime.
To be clear, if you make
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
you will have 3 lock-unlock loops
Instead, if you make
Begin immediata
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
Commit
You have just a 1 lock-unlock loop
We have customers with also 25-28 client that operate without problem this way.
Are you using Sqlite3 with odbc or with a wrapper ?
I'm using Sqlite and xHarbour since late 2010 in all my products and in network environments without problems.
Generally speaking, you don't need a client-server structure to operate on a network with Sqlite but you should cumulate the write calls inside a Begin Immediate->Commit sequence in order to minimize the file locktime.
To be clear, if you make
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
you will have 3 lock-unlock loops
Instead, if you make
Begin immediata
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
Commit
You have just a 1 lock-unlock loop
We have customers with also 25-28 client that operate without problem this way.
Are you using Sqlite3 with odbc or with a wrapper ?
Best Regards,
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
Marco,
28 users on a network--that is good news. Thanks for the info.
James
28 users on a network--that is good news. Thanks for the info.
James
- Marco Turco
- Posts: 858
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:00 pm
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
Yes, and this is not all !! Using the "WAL" mode Sqlite3 also support concurrent write calls in multitasking on the same server.
To make a sample, I have a franchising company as customer with 7-8 associated companies in different locations.
They installed my app on a remote dedicated server and any company has 2-3 client connected via remote desktop to the remote server.
I have found Sqlite3 really a good dbf replacement: just a single db file, SQL92 syntax and ACID features.
To make a sample, I have a franchising company as customer with 7-8 associated companies in different locations.
They installed my app on a remote dedicated server and any company has 2-3 client connected via remote desktop to the remote server.
I have found Sqlite3 really a good dbf replacement: just a single db file, SQL92 syntax and ACID features.
Best Regards,
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
Marco,
I looked at SQLite a number of years ago--maybe 5. If I remember correctly I had to get a third party C program to work with FWH and interface with SQLite. Is that still how it is done? Or is there a DLL or ActiveX module or something?
James
I looked at SQLite a number of years ago--maybe 5. If I remember correctly I had to get a third party C program to work with FWH and interface with SQLite. Is that still how it is done? Or is there a DLL or ActiveX module or something?
James
- Marco Turco
- Posts: 858
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:00 pm
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: SqLite in network
James,
there is an official wrapper for harbour but for xharbour - as I know - there is only an unofficial wrapper + fwh class to access to the Sqlite3 API developed by SSBBS a chinese FWH user. This is the access mode I'm using.
It's available on http://www2.zzz.com.tw/phpbb2/viewforum ... 99265acf02
It's for this reason I'm interested to know which wrapper is using Rimantes at this moment.
there is an official wrapper for harbour but for xharbour - as I know - there is only an unofficial wrapper + fwh class to access to the Sqlite3 API developed by SSBBS a chinese FWH user. This is the access mode I'm using.
It's available on http://www2.zzz.com.tw/phpbb2/viewforum ... 99265acf02
It's for this reason I'm interested to know which wrapper is using Rimantes at this moment.
Best Regards,
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
Marco Turco
SOFTWARE XP LLP
Re: SqLite in network
Marco , you provide so PERFECT VALUABLE INFORMATION !!! How fine that is , many thanks to you !Marco Turco wrote:Hello Rimantes,
I'm using Sqlite and xHarbour since late 2010 in all my products and in network environments without problems.
Generally speaking, you don't need a client-server structure to operate on a network with Sqlite but you should cumulate the write calls inside a Begin Immediate->Commit sequence in order to minimize the file locktime.
To be clear, if you make
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
you will have 3 lock-unlock loops
Instead, if you make
Begin immediata
INSERT INTO TABLE 1 ....
INSERT INTO TABLE 2 ...
INSERT INTO TABLE 3 ...
Commit
You have just a 1 lock-unlock loop
We have customers with also 25-28 client that operate without problem this way.
Are you using Sqlite3 with odbc or with a wrapper ?
At first , reading info about SqLite and network problems with them I didn't begin a seriuos working ( production ) project with Sqlite . Now I have a new project , small enterpise of production , ~10-12 PC in network . So SqLite for such project is ideal - no server , minimal requirements and administration and etc.
About locking - I'm working ONLY in such manier , as you described - begin ... insert/update one or some tables ... commit . In mine main workplace I'm working with Oracle , inserting/updating I'm doing only in this way some years alreday .
Because I was afraid to begin with SqLite database in network , I begin with fireBird . But now I'll return to SqLite . With FireBird I'm working with hbfbird from harbour\contrib ( I'm working with harbour ) . I was working with hbsqlt3 from harbour\contrib . Also I'll review solution from Ssbbs .
Many thanks to you , Marco !
With best regards !
Rimantas U.
- RAMESHBABU
- Posts: 591
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:54 am
- Location: Secunderabad (T.S), India
Re: SqLite in network
Mr.Marco,
You have given very good info regarding Sqlite.
May please know that:
How strong it is in security aspects ?
Can we protect databases with passwords like other flavours of SQL.
I found that SqliteManager is easily opening the Databases without any
security.
Regards,
- Ramesh Babu
You have given very good info regarding Sqlite.
May please know that:
How strong it is in security aspects ?
Can we protect databases with passwords like other flavours of SQL.
I found that SqliteManager is easily opening the Databases without any
security.
Regards,
- Ramesh Babu